In Photos: Newport Soapbox Derby Winners on a Roll

Kids raced down Memorial Boulevard past Easton's Beach on Saturday for the Ocean State Soapbox Derby.

Rev your engines, Rhode Island, because the winners of Saturday’s Rhode Island Soapbox Derby, Avery Oefinger and Maddison Rathbun, are headed to the All-American Soapbox Derby national championship in Akron, Ohio to represent Rhode Island in July.

“If they win or lose, the kids have a blast,” Cal Callahan, owner of on Thames street, said. Callahan helped organized the race and his daughter Faye came in third place last year.

Mike Farley, the director of the derby, said the operating expenses were approximately $20,000, which was funded by three primary sponsors, Hyundai of Newport, Waste Management of Rhode Island and Sysco Foods.

Logistical support was provided by the Newport Lion’s Club, John Gomes and the Viking Riders, a Newport motorcycle club.

Super Stock Car Division Winners
1.) Avery Oefinger
2.) Austin DeGiacomo
3.) Lily Hall

Stock Car Division Division Winners
1.) Maddison Rathbun
2.) Dan Leighton
3.) Hunter Ferris

For a list of all the racers and their cars, visit the Ocean State Soap Box Derby website 


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »